Aussie Book Review: Burning Lies by Helene Young

Burning Lies Helene Young- Burning Lies

 Format- ebook

 Source- Review copy/ netgalley

 Publisher- Penguin Australia

 Publication date- 2nd July 2012

 Synopsis- Kaitlyn Scott is searching for the truth about her husband’s death, even if that means revisiting the most painful day of her life. But what she uncovers is a criminal willing to stop at nothing to keep his secret.
Ryan O’Donnell, an enigmatic undercover cop, is investigating arson attacks when he is drawn into Kaitlyn’s world. He tries to fight his attraction for her, hoping the case might put his own demons to rest, but it only threatens to push him over the edge.
With Kaitlyn and Ryan on a collision course, the arsonist seizes the chance to settle some old scores. As the Atherton Tableland burns, the three of them are caught in a fiery dance of danger and desire, and not everyone will come out alive.
Set in Australia’s tropical far north, this is an explosive story of peril and passion by the author voted by the Romance Writers of Australia as the most popular novelist of the year.

 Review- Burning Lies is the third tantalising romantic suspense novel released by talented Australian author, Helene Young. Another great instalment in this loosely based series where the lead female is a customs pilot and has a major role in solving the investigation that ensues in Queensland’s northern tropical region.

An arsonist is wreaking havoc in a rural town outside of Cairns during an already ferocious fire season. When Kaitlyn Scott moved into town with her son Dan and her mother Julia and joined the local fire brigade as a volunteer it wasn’t just to help the community, save houses and their livelihood but it was more personal. She’s guilt ridden over the fire that was allegedly started by her husband five years ago that ultimately  took his life, her father’s and their family home.

Ryan O’Donnell is an undercover cop who moves in next door to Kaitlyn and has a role in uncovering the arsonist but must keep his identity hidden. Kaitlyn immediately suspects that Ryan isn’t exactly who he says he is but she is drawn to him despite her unresolved hurts. Ryan is cocky and flirty but that’s the side of him that forms part of his pseudo identity, there’s also a side of him that is caring and maintains strong values.

It’s not long before Kaitlyn’s past comes back to haunt her and there’s some evidence to believe that perhaps her husband isn’t dead, perhaps he is behind the current fires in the area. Kaitlyn as a character has many layers of depth which slowly unravelled from the strong, independent and headstrong woman to a more vulnerable, emotive woman who becomes open to relying on others and trusting someone, Ryan.

As a love interest, Ryan is a loveable guy who is playful, sexy and committed to protecting Kaitlyn. Another side of him emerges through his relationship with Kaitlyn, the side that he has repressed because of the nature of his work. Burning Lies has plenty of action and suspense which is fast-paced right up until the very end. I love Helene’s writing style and character development and can’t wait to see what she has in store after this series.  I’ll definitely have to get a printed version of this book to sit alongside Young’s first two novels, Wings of Fear and Shattered Sky. I highly recommend this series!

5/5 rating

Purchase book @

Fishpond/ Amazon/ Book Depository UK

About the author: I live by a beach just north of Cairns – my own tiny slice of paradise in North Queensland. When I’m not writing, you’ll find me flying Dash 8 aircraft for a major airline around regional Australia.
I write romantic suspense with feisty, confident heroines who (not surprisingly) work in the aviation industry. My stories are set in the top end of Australia – a wild and wonderful, larger-than-life environment just begging to be showcased in novels filled with intrigue.
I grew up thinking everyone had their head stuck in a book so writing seemed to flow on naturally from there!

More titles by Helene Young:

Wings of Fear (Formerly Border Watch)Shattered Sky

This book was read as part of the AWW2012 challenge:


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: